Election Year Update!

No, not that election. Actually, it’s election year every year for the Co-op’s board of directors. Every year you as member-owners elect three members to serve as directors for a three year term. Nominated members are placed on the ballot which goes out to all members of the Co-op. The ballot goes out with the annual report in September. This year we are hoping to implement electronic voting as well as the paper ballots we have used in the past. The final results will be announced at our annual meeting on Sunday, October 23rd. This is your opportunity as member-owners to have your say in the leadership of our Co-op; your full participation is essential to the democratic process of the Co-op’s governance.

The nominating committee is in the process of finalizing the ballot. As of this writing we have five candidates who will be in the running. They are: Kathy Burke, current board president, Anton Elbers, current board member, Carolyn Crane, Keene resident and director of housing at Keene Housing Authority, Nathan Lyczak, Keene resident and manger/consultant for Kroka Expeditions and Kylie Jacque, Swanzey resident and senior editor for Yankee Publishing. Each candidate will submit a photo and brief statement to appear on the ballot. If you are a member-owner and are interested in serving on the board of directors please read the article “Considering Co-op Board Membership?” by Lisa Mahar. This article outlines the nominating process and how to submit your name for nomination.

As a member of the nominating committee, it has been inspiring to call member-owners seeking out candidates. What comes across most strongly is the appreciation and love felt for our Co-op. Many members expressed the desire to serve on the board, but not at this time due to varying life situations. If you as a member-owner are also of this mind feel free to contact the nominating committee or any board member, so that we keep you in mind for future elections.

We look forward to your active participation in our upcoming election and hope to see you at the annual meeting!